Living Essentials

I wouldn’t compare myself to a nomad; however, I have been moving places. Interestingly more and more people are required to move across cities, countries and continents. This seems to have become a norm with the opportunities spread all across the globe and one doesn’t know where the next big (or supposedly big) opportunity might take you.

Being part of such experiences which have so far made us set up home three times in the last five years in three different continents (and more individually), I believe I can sum up what I think are my living essentials.

One might ask what triggered this sudden thought provoking (TP) listing, well it was a raw mango that husby picked up in the hope of making the lovely ‘Mavidikayi pappu’ (Mango Dal).

Contrary to my expectations, the raw mango was reasonably sour with a hint of the typical raw flavor that sets in before the mango turns ripe and just at the right juncture to make the yummy pappu. You could rate my delight pretty high at this tasting and the end result was fairly good and could have been much better. I am sure my second attempt would be better J

So coming back to my TP list, here you go:

  1. Food – Elements of our Indian cuisine, especially Andhra ingredients which enable us to continue to stay connected with our roots.
  2. A set of family or close friends with whom you relate – Living without good support system can be pretty tough, especially in a new place.
  3. Happiness in the work I do – a.k.a – Dream job J or at least working towards it.

There can be a number of other things that can be added to this list, such as great weather, travelling, owning a car and so on and so forth, however the ones in the list are essentials for me.

It doesn’t signify where we live, but it is those essentials that for me make all the difference of how we live.

One thought on “Living Essentials

Leave a Reply

