Orkut – Seemed useful

Orkut was a craze when introduced and one’s presence on it was considered in vogue. These days that glory belongs to Facebook. I have always wondered what use Orkut can ever do for me, except for connecting (temporarily) with long lost friends. Well, I must admit that going with the latest fad I took to it, or rather tried to with quite a bit of enthusiasm. May be I have aged and my priorities differ and I only check my profile very rarely. In fact I still find it easier than Facebook, where I did create an account and successfully forgot the password. For some reason when I try and reset it, I never get the updated one, so I just let the whole thing fade.

Coming to Orkut, one thing is for sure, I got to see what kind of person my hubs was before we even met and yes, it can help a lot in knowing the general bent of an individual. Apart from that, I find most of the social networking sites – esp Orkut a real waste of time. Linkedin might differ a little, but it yet to catch up and will take time to be recognised as a reliable recruitment reference site.

My cousin is leaving for the US and she informed me that she managed to get in touch with her prospective roomies through Orkut. She managed to fix up everything through Orkut links, emails and some local references. Six years back, when my close friend left in pusuit of happyness she only had her senior to rely on and that was the case with many people before her. For the second time in my life, I found Orkut being useful (to someone, at least) as a social networking site. But once again, it caters primarily to students and I doubt – having now found my partner – if it can ever be useful to me in a better manner than congratulating friends upon weddings, engagements, babies, birthdays etc.

2 thoughts on “Orkut – Seemed useful

Leave a Reply

