The wired life!

Everything these days is automated, electronic and somehow or the other twinged to reduce human effort/intervention. I have absolutely no complains about the new inventions. After all they make my life easy. But, do you notice something, every such electrical gadget has to come with a wire, usually black. TV needs power supply, a wire here, the cable for the thousands of channels that we never see, again has another big wire. The laptop has the option for wireless internet, but the router needs the power connection and hence the wire, and yes the laptop, that needs a wire too. Thankfully the TV remote does not. Yes, yes, we have made great progress from the days when electrical lines used to run over the walls, I still remember my old home in my childhood, where it was done in that fashion. There are a number of other things that have come up in the recent past that can operate using the wireless technology and I am not unaware of them.

But, for a person who is trying to keep her home neat and clean, these wires have now become a necessary evil. In a way they bring out the creativity out of an individual is what I feel. These wires give us an opportunity to utilise our brain to come up with contraptions that will help us conceal them or make them look less obvious. In our small apartment, my husband and I have tried hard to conceal a huge chunk of those necessary evils – wires. It all started many days back when I tried to clean my home. Somehow, I always felt that the hall looked really untidy and whatever I do, it never ever seemed to be looking prim. At the heart of the problem lay the chunk of black and white wires, running all along. It then kind of struck like a jolt of lightening. Ma’s words came running back to me. She used to remind us time and again to wrap up those wires when we were done. I can now strongly emphathize with her feelings.

Anyways, back to our small home, we did manage to conceal the bunch of wires. Used some coloured paper to put as screens and in the process induced colour into our rather white and boring looking apartment. (The rent restrictions make it too much of a botheration to paint the walls.) Let me confess, we still have some set of wires that are still to be seen out. I suppose we can’t hide everything. But, its now much better and tidy. Ah! so wires also lead to good teamwork and helps in relationship bonding. After all my husband and I were working collectively toward a certain cause that plagued the two of us :).  It takes me back to another aspect, my degree in Electrical engineering, how co-incidental. Now that I think of it, sometimes I used to be irked by the bunch of wires found in the labs too. I suppose my aversion to bunches of electrical wires is dated. Well, there is another thing that I strongly have come to conclude, never take the electrical connections lightly. When you decide to do your home, make sure you plan the connections and points ahead. If you don’t, trust me they would create a havoc later in your well-planned home.

However weird this may be, our lives are wired and connected in a number of ways with all these modern contraptions…so live an Electric life!

2 thoughts on “The wired life!

  1. Good one! happy to know whenever two people are working for a cause. You know? there is a dell computer we bought recently that has one 24 inch flat screen and ONE wire (makes me laugh) that supplies power to it and thats all!!
    wireless mouse
    wireless keyboard
    costs 1495 Dollars
    now 1300 I suppose
    made our lives (almost) wireless.
    There are recent reports of wireless electricity that came on Yahoo. But they are still working on it. It is very short lived.Check for wireless AC ok?
    Good writing; Manasa is back in Business!!!
    God bless you both.

Leave a Reply

