Initial Impressions

Friends – In our times, they are an integral part of ones life. Life is totally unimaginable without them. Grading them or rating them would be demeaning them, but then there is something called the spark or chemistry or wavelength match that tells us, yes we are friends for life. I can depend on this person to understand what I meant to say.

I have noticed that my experience in finding some people who are now my friends in the truest sense and have known me well over the years has been pretty common. In the sense, my initial hesitations or the initial impressions with all of them have been remarkably same. One of my closest friends has been with me in all my trials and tribulations (uff!!  What a word!!!) or rather has seen all my whims and fancies for a decade now. I first saw her in one of those dingy coaching center offices and for some reason found her different. Later the same day, saw her at the bus stop talking to a common friend. Something made me wary of her and also inquisitive and I ended up asking “You from second year?”. She did seem like a know-all, I-care-a-damn attitude person, so thought it had to be a senior. Well, that was the start and we didn’t look back again.

Another such instance is of another close friend. Back in engineering college, when boys were a pest and the class guys abhor able, I developed a keen dislike for this guy who was my class mate. His attitude was what struck me and I hated it, because he despised the girls (especially in his class) too. A long story and he is now one of my amazing friends. The start with “abhorring” feeling has happened in the case of many others too.

The best part of these relations is that even though we tend to neglect and loose touch for a few months, when we meet again or talk to each other after a while the magic recreates itself and time becomes such a trivial thing. We are now what we were a while ago. That’s the beauty I live for.

There are many such examples and when I look back, my coterie is formed of such people whom I thought were arrogant, strong headed and decided “not my types”. May be I felt threatened. I now realize how much they are “me” and represent my reflections with their unique strokes to make them that much more desirable. The initial negative attraction was also some kind of instinct, is what I would say. Kind of proves the Conservation of Energy concept – Energy can not be created or destroyed, it can only be changed from one form to another. My friends are the family I have chosen, hand-picked, carefully nurtured, they have known me, loved me, hated me and are a part of me.

This post is dedicated to all my friends and the lovely synergy I share with each one of them.

4 thoughts on “Initial Impressions

  1. Something I read about pleading a friend for old friends by a poet… 😉

    Though you are in your shining days,
    Voices among the crowd
    And new friends busy with your praise,
    Be not unkind or proud,
    But think about old friends the most:
    Time’s bitter flood will rise,
    Your beauty perish and be lost
    For all eyes but these eyes.
    – W.B.Yeats

  2. ahh!! Poor chaps and chapinis :), whoever they are 😛
    And over sooo manyy years…they must be absolutely crazzyy!! ye sab unke pichle janm kiye hue paapon ka phal hai!! 😀 😉

  3. Madame,
    This is the called the vibes. In this world of Billions, coincidence vibes of human brains are one in every 100. The chance of finding them rests on you/us. Any person may be oppurtunistic, materialistic, selfish, but may be the most wonderful friend certainly to some billions around the world. I beleive human beings are ALL wonderful… to atleast some one else… ugly, pretty, nasty, pleasant, obnoxious, charming.. whatever. Aham Bramhasmi…
    Good luck in your future endevours.
    enig O Energy

Leave a Reply

